General information

Following the Governmental Decree of the Russian Federation on December 28th, 1991, Kenozero National Park was established on an area of 141354 hectares.

It is located in the south-western part of the Arkhangelsk region at the junction of the Plesetsk and Kargopol administrative districts. Its western FLANK runs along the border with the Republic of Karelia. The territory of the park is configured in a polygon, greater across the longitude. The maximum distance fr om the south to the north is 72 km, from the west to the east - 27 km. Kenozero National Park - a specially protected natural area - is a reference to the prehistoric human inhabitation, something that has preserved the centuries-old history and culture of the Russian North. Evidence of this is preserved in natural complexes and objects, numerous monuments of material and spiritual culture, architecture, murals, iconography, archeology, and rich ethnographic material.

For a long time, the protected seclusion of Kenozero, which depends little on any external factors, has contributed to the preservation of ancient features in language and culture. The Kenozero heroic saga provided the treasured folklore with a huge heritage: here Russian and Soviet folkloric scholars and ethnographers recorded over 3000 texts of epic tales, fairy tales and other works of oral folk art.

The natural and cultural complex of Kenozero essentially enriches the notion of the culture of the Russian North. The quality of composition in the objects of cultural heritage is unrivalled. This is the territory, that preserved to the fullest the organic interaction of pre-Christian and Christian cultures in both the monuments and way of life of the population. The Kenozero National Park is a striking example of the balanced and harmonious coexistence of man and nature, the mutual influence and interpenetration of nature and culture, wh ere the features of a Russian world order in the 17th - 19th centuries can be seen.

  In 2004, it was included in the UNESCO World Network of Biosphere Reserves.

The unique location of the park on the border of the Russian platform and the Baltic shield, the watershed between the basins of the White and Baltic seas, and the natural characteristics – all which determines the biodiversity of plants and animals. 50 species of mammals, 263 species of birds, 4 species of reptiles, 5 species of amphibians are recorded on its territory; 800 species of higher vascular plants,  many of which are listed in the Red List of Russia and the International Union for Conservation of Nature Red List. 28 species of fish and 2 species of lamprey live in almost 300 lakes and rivers, which in itself is atypical for watershed areas. Kenozero plays an important role in preserving the avifauna of Northern Europe, and is therefore included in the catalogue "Important Bird Areas of International Importance in European Russia (Important Bird Areas) (2000)".

Kenozero National Park is an outstanding example of the Northern European cultural landscape, which has preserved traditions and ancient forms of folk art, alongside the use and management of natural resourses on its territory. People still live within the boundaries of these cultural landscapes, and they are the bearers of its traditional culture – the descendants of those who once created this natural and cultural diversity. The historical and cultural elements of the Park's cultural landscapes ("holy" woods, chapels, intending crosses, residential and farm buildings, etc.) are all objects of high value - a peculiar landmark of the Park - the most important components representing the territory. The high degree of preservation of cultural landscapes and the concentration of their valuable elements make the Kenozero National Park a unique region, unmatched across the territory of Russia and other countries of the world.

Even before the organization of the national park, Kenozero, unlike many other places had already preserved a significant part of its historical, cultural and natural heritage. It can be assumed that this was encouraged, owing to the beauty of Kenozero' places and by following the traditions at a deep, emotional level, which kept people from harm. Country life according to the precepts of the ancestors was a way of preserving the national identity for this territory. The cultural and natural heritage of Kenozero, after centuries of historical development, luckily escaped the periods of global destruction, preserved the historical basis, integrity, identity.

eng

Общая информация

Кенозерский национальный парк образован во исполнение Постановления Правительства Российской Федерации 28 декабря 1991 года на площади 141354 га. 

Он расположен в юго-западной части Архангельской области на стыке Плесецкого и Каргопольского административных районов, его западная граница проходит по границе с Республикой Карелия. По конфигурации территория Парка – вытянутый в меридиональном направлении многоугольник. Максимальное расстояние с юга на север – 72 км, с запада на восток – 27 км. Кенозерский национальный парк – особо охраняемая природная территория – является эталонной системой исторической среды обитания человека, объектом, сохранившим многовековую историю и культуру Русского Севера. Свидетельство этому – сохранившиеся природные комплексы и объекты, многочисленные памятники материальной и духовной культуры, архитектуры, монументальной живописи, иконописи, археологии, богатый этнографический материал. 


Долгое время спасительная уединенность Кенозерья, мало зависящая от внешних факторов, способствовала сохранению древних черт в языке и культуре. Кенозерский героический эпос вошел в сокровищницу фольклористики огромным наследием: здесь русскими и советскими учеными-фольклористами, этнографами были записаны свыше 3000 текстов былин, сказок и других произведений устного народного творчества. 

Природно-культурный комплекс Кенозерья существенно обогащает представление о культуре Русского Севера. Качественный состав объектов культурного наследия не имеет аналогов. Это территория, наиболее ярко сохранившая в памятниках и укладе жизни населения органичное взаимодействие дохристианской и христианской культур. Кенозерский национальный парк – поразительный пример сбалансированного и гармоничного сосуществования человека и природы, взаимовлияния и взаимопроникновения природы и культуры, где просматриваются черты русского мироустройства XVII – XIX вв. 

В 2004 году он включен во Всемирную сеть Биосферных Резерватов ЮНЕСКО. 

Уникальное расположение Парка на границе Русской платформы и Балтийского кристаллического щита, водораздел между бассейнами Белого и Балтийского морей, природные характеристики обусловили разнообразие видового состава растений и животных. На его территории зарегистрировано 50 видов млекопитающих, 263 вида птиц, 4 вида рептилий, 5 видов земноводных; обнаружено около 800 видов высших сосудистых растений, многие из которых занесены в Красную книгу России и Международного Союза охраны природы. В почти 300 озёрах и реках, что само по себе нетипично для территорий водоразделов, обитают 28 видов рыб и 2 вида миног. Кенозерье играет важную роль в сохранении орнитофауны Северной Европы, и поэтому внесено в каталог «Ключевые орнитологические территории международного значения в Европейской России (Important Bird Areas) (2000)».

Кенозерский национальный парк – выдающийся образец североевропейского культурного ландшафта, сохранившего на своей территории традиции и реликтовые формы народного творчества, хозяйствования и природопользования. В границах культурных ландшафтов продолжают жить люди – носители традиционной культуры, потомки тех, кто когда-то создавал это природно-культурное разнообразие. Историко-культурные элементы культурных ландшафтов Парка («святые» рощи, часовни, поклонные кресты, жилые и хозяйственные постройки и т.д.) являются объектами высокой ценности, своеобразной визитной карточкой Парка, важнейшими составляющими образа территории. Высокая степень сохранности культурных ландшафтов и концентрация их ценных элементов делают Кенозерский национальный парк уникальным регионом, аналога которому нет на территории России и других стран мира. 


В отличие от многих других мест, Кенозерье еще до организации национального парка сохранило значительную часть своего историко-культурного и природного наследия. Можно предположить, что этому способствовала красота кенозерских мест и следование традициям на глубинном, эмоциональном уровне, удержавшее людей от непродуманных действий и решений. Жизнь по заветам предков была для этой территории способом сохранения национального самосознания. Культурное и природное наследие Кенозерья, пройдя многовековые исторические этапы развития, избежало периодов глобального разрушения, сохранило историческую основу, цельность, самобытность.